We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Born to Trouble

Born to Trouble

A young woman struggles to escape her past, in order to find the happiness she so desperately craves…

Born to Trouble by Rita Bradshaw is a compelling saga guaranteed to tug at the heartstrings. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale.


Born into the worst of families in Sunderland’s filthy, crime-ridden East End, Pearl Croft’s childhood is miserable. Shortly after her violent, drunken father is killed in a fight, Pearl’s elder brothers are sent to prison leaving her, still a child herself, to care for her baby brothers. Pearl’s mother brings her ‘clients’ to the house, one of whom has a penchant for little girls…

Terrified and hurt, Pearl runs away from home and is found, feverish and near death, by Romany gypsies. But this is far from the end of Pearl’s struggles. Years pass, and as Pearl reaches womanhood she begins to wonder if she is simply born to trouble or will she find happiness one day?

What readers are saying about Born to Trouble:

Love, loss, poverty, family and success – even touched on WW1

Loved it from beginning to end. Lovely, romantic story of rags to riches’

‘I loved this book, it kept me enthralled right to the end. I couldn’t put it down
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 7th June 2012

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755375967

Reviews

Catherine Cookson fans will enjoy discovering a new author who writes in a similar vein
Home and Family
If you like gritty, rags-to-riches Northern sagas, you'll enjoy this
Family Circle
All published writers have skill and creativity, but a few have more. It's called magic. I'm beginning to believe Bradshaw has it!
Historical Novels Review
Could have been written by a young Catherine Cookson
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Catherine Cookson fans will enjoy discovering a new author who writes in a similar vein
Home and Family
Displaying an uncanny ability to spin a good yarn
Sunderland Echo