We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Break of Dawn

Break of Dawn

Will her tragic past haunt her forever?

Break of Dawn is a gripping family saga of heartache and betrayal at the start of the 20th century, from much-loved author Rita Bradshaw. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Annie Murray.


Her mother’s death in childbirth leaves Sophy Hutton at the mercy of her cruel aunt and uncle, and her childhood is brutal. At sixteen, Sophy learns the shocking truth behind her birth and escapes to London to pursue a career as an actress, determined to put the past behind her.

But life for women at the turn of the century is fraught with danger and Sophy soon discovers the darker side to London’s glamorous theatres. Young and innocent, she doesn’t recognise the man who really loves her when he appears; instead she is charmed into marrying handsome actor Toby Shawe, a flawed and amoral individual. Then the heartache really begins…

What readers are saying about Break of Dawn:

‘This book was poignant, held my interest throughout and showed the depths of human weakness and fragility but also the strength and determination of character

I didn’t want this book to end. Many twists and turns

‘The story kept me gripped from start to finish and I would highly recommend this book… but be prepared to not want to put it down once started!’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 8th December 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755371129

Reviews

Catherine Cookson fans will enjoy discovering a new author who writes in a similar vein
Home and Family
If you like gritty, rags-to-riches Northern sagas, you'll enjoy this
Family Circle
All published writers have skill and creativity, but a few have more. It's called magic. I'm beginning to believe Bradshaw has it!
Historical Novels Review
Could have been written by a young Catherine Cookson
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Catherine Cookson fans will enjoy discovering a new author who writes in a similar vein
Home and Family
Displaying an uncanny ability to spin a good yarn
Sunderland Echo