We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Candles in the Storm

Candles in the Storm

Her actions during one violent storm change a young woman’s life forever…

Candles in the Storm is a spell-binding saga from Rita Bradshaw that follows a young woman as she faces prejudice, war and true love. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Dilly Court.


‘Rita’s sharp, darting prose with deliciously gossipy undercurrents, perfectly portrays the fragility of lives dependent on the sea… Rita takes us into the heart of a hardy community in a novel full of local flavour, atmosphere traditions and habits’ – Sunderland Echo

The storm that’s raging when fisherman’s daughter Daisy Appleby is born in a village just north of Sunderland could be taken as a warning of a turbulent life ahead. It’s during another storm fifteen years later that her father and brothers are lost and Daisy rescues William, heir of a wealthy Southwick family, with whom she falls in love.

Soon, as her reward for saving him, Daisy is working for William’s irascible aunt, while local lad Alf continues to court her. Warned off by Daisy’s grandmother, William denies his own feelings and so it will be many years later, after much hardship and turmoil, that Daisy finds the happiness she deserves, amidst the drama of the Great War.

What readers are saying about Candles in the Storm:

‘The historical setting is brilliant. You feel as though you are living during those times. Sometimes your heart is in your mouth as you turn the pages’

Best book I have read for a long time. Could not put it down

‘Was enthralled from start to finish’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 4th March 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755375882

Reviews

Rita's sharp, darting prose with deliciously gossipy undercurrents, perfectly portrays the fragility of lives dependent on the sea... Rita takes us into the heart of a hardy community in a novel full of local flavour, atmosphere traditions and habits
Sunderland Echo
Catherine Cookson fans will enjoy discovering a new author who writes in a similar vein
Home and Family
If you like gritty, rags-to-riches Northern sagas, you'll enjoy this
Family Circle
All published writers have skill and creativity, but a few have more. It's called magic. I'm beginning to believe Bradshaw has it!
Historical Novels Review
Could have been written by a young Catherine Cookson
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Catherine Cookson fans will enjoy discovering a new author who writes in a similar vein
Home and Family