Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Boy from Nowhere

The Boy from Nowhere

In care at four. A runaway at six. On the streets at fifteen. For some kids, there’s no hope.

Rosie Goodwin writes an unforgettable saga in The Boy From Nowhere, a tale of a young boy’s desperate search for a place to call home. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Cathy Sharp.


‘A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer’ – Bookseller

Alex never stood a chance. After one ‘accident’ too many, he’s taken into care aged four. Although his mother promises to get him back, he’s adopted by a childless couple and renamed Franky. It should be a fresh start, but his new dad has a twisted idea of fatherhood. Abused and alone, Franky escapes – but his freedom is short-lived, and after a series of foster homes no one can get through to him. He says he’s ‘the boy from nowhere’, but deep down he’s still waiting for his mum to take him home.

Franky slips into a dangerous world on the streets of London, earning a living the only way he can. One day he might find a way out, but can he ever trust again?

What readers are saying about The Boy From Nowhere:

‘You read the whole book waiting for a happy ending… When I finished the book I cried and cried and it has remained in my thoughts ever since. What an amazing author Rosie Goodwin is to be able to do that. I find myself really caring about what happens to the people she writes about’

‘What a great read this was! With Rosie Goodwin you never know what to expect, apart from the fact that it will be a fantastic read! This is a very sad story with quite a twist… You won’t be able to put this down once you start reading it!’

One of the best books I have ever read. So far everyone of Rosie Goodwin’s books have been brilliant reads, but this one surpassed them all’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 10th December 2009

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755342280

Reviews

A gifted writer... Not only is Goodwin's characterisation and dialogue compelling, but her descriptive writing is a joy
Nottingham Evening Post
A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer
Bookseller
A promising and well-drawn debut
Lancashire Evening Post
A good tearjerker...compelling
Reading Evening Post
Rosie deserves all her success. She is a talented storyteller and will go all the way to the top
Dee Williams
The tearjerker of the season...[a] heart-rending tale
Western Mail
Goodwin is a fabulous writer...she reels the reader in surprisingly quickly and her style involves lots of twists and turns that are in no way predictable
Worcester Evening News
A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade
Northern Echo
Praise for Rosie's first novel, THE BAD APPLE: 'Rosie Goodwin is a born storyteller - she'll make you cry, she'll make you laugh, but most of all you'll care for her characters and lose yourself in her story. An author destined for the top
Jeannie Johnson, author of THE REST OF OUR DAYS