Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)

A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year. For readers of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

‘Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity’ Cath Staincliffe


The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn’t want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.

D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl’s disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she’s about to face.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 7th April 2016

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781472226402

Reviews

It's written with the verve and assurance of a future star and deserves to be a big hit
Steven Dunne
A masterclass in pace and plot
Joanne Sheppard </i>blog
A truly chilling exploration of control, submission and the desire to step out of a normal life
Eva Dolan
Brilliant. I put everything else aside when I have one of her books in the house
Alex Marwood
Tastes Like Fear is quality intelligent crime, with enough twists to keep you glued to the page and a massive dose of terrifying anticipation
Northern Crime </i>blog<i>
Writes with an effortless ease and fervour that displays what an accomplished writer she is
Crimespree </i>magazine<i>
Fast-paced, tightly plotted and well-written
The Bath Magazine
I cannot recommend this book highly enough
Live and Deadly </i>blog
Highly compelling and atmospheric... the storyline and characters involved me completely, from the very first
Kate Rhodes
Tastes Like Fear is every bit as assured and involving as its two predecessors, and Hilary is a writer who is clearly here to stay
Crime Time
I finished it today and it's completely brilliant, complex, thrilling, brutal, tender, scary and intriguing. What a great book. The pacing is superb, the plot is compelling, the characters are so well drawn. The ending is ingenious
Richard Jones of Bristol Review of Books
A tautly conceived story that will grab you from the first page and refuse to let go until the last
CrimeSquad
Tastes Like Fear is an extraordinary depiction of psychological and economic violence that is genuinely chilling
Pam Reader </i>blog
Yet again the author proves herself to be among the leaders of contemporary British crime fiction
For Winter Nights </i>blog<i>
One of Britain's best new crime writers
Daily Mail
A tense, terrifying tale of obsession and possession . . . a writer at the top of her game
Alison Graham, Radio Times
Marnie goes from strength to strength... this one drips with the gritty, dirty, danger of the urban wastelands around the river
Julia Crouch
Hilary's depiction of 13-year-old Laura Beswick, Loz, is heartbreaking and convincing. This pacy, easy-reading novel is lifted by its perceptive examination of the distress of girls who don't believe they fit their allotted space in the world and the agony of the parents who try to make them understand how deeply they are loved
N. J. Cooper
Mixing a strong sense of social justice with carefully crafted characters and an interesting plot, this is a powerful piece of crime writing that builds to an emotionally charged conclusion
Sydney Herald
It is devious, dark, deliciously chilling. A formidable addition to an accomplished series that just keeps getting better and better
Never Imitate </i>blog
It has such pace and force. It's very disturbing and builds up to a terrific climax
Helen Dunmore
I think it must be one of the debut novels of next year, if not THE debut novel... (It will be if there is any justice in the world!)
Caro Ramsay
Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity, I think Sarah's onto a winning series and I really look forward to reading the next instalment
Cath Staincliffe
It's meaty, dark and terrifying. Unflinchingly violent and beautifully big-hearted in equal measure. And Sarah's writing is glorious - she tells us things in new ways, gives us a fully fleshed, sensual world to inhabit for the novel
Julia Crouch
Tastes Like Fear is a triumph; brutal, honest and quite brilliant
Random Things Through My Letterbox </i>blog