Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)

A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year. For readers of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

‘Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity’ Cath Staincliffe


The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn’t want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.

D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl’s disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she’s about to face.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 7th April 2016

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472226426

Reviews

Brilliant. I put everything else aside when I have one of her books in the house
Alex Marwood
A tense, terrifying tale of obsession and possession . . . a writer at the top of her game
Alison Graham, Radio Times
A truly chilling exploration of control, submission and the desire to step out of a normal life
Eva Dolan
Writes with an effortless ease and fervour that displays what an accomplished writer she is
Crimespree </i>magazine<i>
Tastes Like Fear is quality intelligent crime, with enough twists to keep you glued to the page and a massive dose of terrifying anticipation
Northern Crime </i>blog<i>
Tastes Like Fear is an extraordinary depiction of psychological and economic violence that is genuinely chilling
Pam Reader </i>blog
A masterclass in pace and plot
Joanne Sheppard </i>blog
Tastes Like Fear is a triumph; brutal, honest and quite brilliant
Random Things Through My Letterbox </i>blog
I cannot recommend this book highly enough
Live and Deadly </i>blog
It is devious, dark, deliciously chilling. A formidable addition to an accomplished series that just keeps getting better and better
Never Imitate </i>blog
A tautly conceived story that will grab you from the first page and refuse to let go until the last
CrimeSquad
Tastes Like Fear is every bit as assured and involving as its two predecessors, and Hilary is a writer who is clearly here to stay
Crime Time
Fast-paced, tightly plotted and well-written
The Bath Magazine
Yet again the author proves herself to be among the leaders of contemporary British crime fiction
For Winter Nights </i>blog<i>
One of Britain's best new crime writers
Daily Mail
Hilary's depiction of 13-year-old Laura Beswick, Loz, is heartbreaking and convincing. This pacy, easy-reading novel is lifted by its perceptive examination of the distress of girls who don't believe they fit their allotted space in the world and the agony of the parents who try to make them understand how deeply they are loved
N. J. Cooper
Marnie goes from strength to strength... this one drips with the gritty, dirty, danger of the urban wastelands around the river
Julia Crouch
Highly compelling and atmospheric... the storyline and characters involved me completely, from the very first
Kate Rhodes
Mixing a strong sense of social justice with carefully crafted characters and an interesting plot, this is a powerful piece of crime writing that builds to an emotionally charged conclusion
Sydney Herald