Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Search Results for: Emma Cooper

Showing 1-5 of 5 results

The First Time I Saw You

The First Time I Saw You

‘Beautifully observed, tender and genuinely funny’ Josie Silver, author of One Day in December

From the author of The Songs of Us (shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Novel Award) comes a love story that will break your heart, but put it back together again’. Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

Lost:
Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin.
Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Before Sophie met Samuel she saw the world in grey.
Before Samuel met Sophie, he never believed in love at first sight.

When they first meet, something tells them they are meant to be.
But fate has other ideas.

Now they have lost each other and can’t see a way back.
But they’ve already changed each other’s lives in more ways
than they ever expected…

Readers love The First Time I Saw You:

‘I am in love with all the characters in this book. Such a beautiful, funny, heartbreaking and heartwarming story of first love, lost love, mishaps and misunderstandings’

‘Emma Cooper knows how to take readers on a journey, offering tears and hysteria in equal measures, and definite page-turning, and heart-wrenching moments’

‘Extremely well written and so rich that I could picture every character clearly and the book played out like a movie in my mind’

‘Emma is a wonderful author and has an amazing ability to take us on a journey with her wonderful characters

‘Strong storytelling and in a style that’s all Emma Cooper’s, brilliant characters that I can relate to and the kind of story that feels like it was written just for me’

It’s not often a book makes you laugh out loud and then cry into your tea, or wine. This story did both’

‘What characters! I felt I was there with them all watching the twists and turns of the story unfold! I could see the scenes and feel the desperation, the desolation, frustrations, fears and joy!’
The Songs of Us

The Songs of Us

‘Best book I have read this year’ Amazon Reviewer

‘Quirky, clever, and original, this will break your heart, but put it back together again’
Katie Fforde

‘Full of love, humour and heart, Emma’s books will stay with you for a long time’ Josie Silver

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a laugh-out-loud, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family.

If Melody hadn’t run out of de-icer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn’t be left with a condition that makes her sing when she’s nervous. And she definitely wouldn’t have belted out the Arctic Monkeys’ ‘I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor’ in assembly at her son’s school.

If Dev hadn’t taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn’t have happened. He wouldn’t have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life’s heart.

But if they hadn’t seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be ‘Us’.

Readers LOVE The Songs of Us:

‘One of my favourites of 2018’

‘Reminiscent of (and in my humble opinion right up there with) Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and Cecilia Ahern’s PS I Love You

‘Funny, heartbreaking and beautifully written…an absolute triumph!

‘This book is something really special, I might even venture to say, perfect’

‘Absolutely wonderful, can’t recommend it highly enough’

‘This book really is something very special. And oh, the ending. Perfect, just perfect!’

‘Wow, wow and wow, what a wonderful and unique storyline’

‘A charming and captivating novel which will make you laugh, give you hope, break your heart and restore your faith in true love’

‘I can’t remember the last time I was so moved by a book’

‘If you want a book that makes you giggle and ugly cry at the same time… this is a must read!’

‘Wow….loved loved loved this book, I so did not want this to end’

‘Rarely does a book come along that is as unique and mesmerising as The Songs Of Us

‘It had me laughing and crying in equal measures’

The Songs of Us will soften your heart and make you smile’

‘Get your hands on a copy now. TRUST ME.’

‘I could not put it down … I really do highly recommend this book’
The Accidental Love Letter

The Accidental Love Letter

The funny, uplifting second novel from Olivia Beirne for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Zoë Folbigg and Marian Keyes.

What would you do if you received a love letter that wasn’t meant for you?

Bea used to feel confident, outgoing and fun, but she’s not sure where that person went.

Over the last few months, she’s found herself becoming reclusive and withdrawn. And despite living with her two best friends, she’s never felt lonelier. To make things worse, she’s become so dependent on her daily routine, she’s started to slip out of everyone else’s.

But when a mysterious battered envelope covered in stars lands on her doormat, Bea wonders if she could find the courage to open it.

It isn’t addressed to her, but it could be… if you squinted…

Readers LOVE Olivia Beirne…

‘Olivia writes with great warmth and wit – a fantastically funny debut’ Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us

‘It was a proper feel-good, heart-warming, very natural and relatable story which I thoroughly enjoyed reading’ Kim Nash (kimthebookworm)

A gorgeous life-affirming read that will make you laugh and cry’ Hayley’s Book Blog

The List That Changed My Life

The List That Changed My Life

Sometimes all you need is a little push…

‘One of the most hilarious books I have read for a very long time. Olivia writes with great warmth and wit – a fantastically funny debut.’ Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Katie Marsh and Marian Keyes, Olivia Beirne’s bestseller The List That Changed My Life takes its readers on an hilarious and heart-warming journey of a lifetime, showing us what it means to really be alive.

Georgia loves wine, reality TV and sitting on the sofa after work. She does not love heights, looking at her bank account, going on dates, or activities that involve a sports bra. And she will never, ever take a risk.

That is, until her braver, bolder, big sister finds out that she won’t be able to tick off the things she wanted to do before turning thirty, and turns to Georgia to help her finish her list.

With the birthday just months away, Georgia suddenly has a deadline to learn to grab life with both hands. Could she be brave enough to take the leap, for her sister?

And how might her own life change if she did?

Readers LOVE The List That Changed My Life…

‘A heart-warming story of love, family and friendship showing how just how far you would actually go for people you love and care for…’ Stardust Book Reviews

It was a proper feel-good, heart-warming, very natural and relatable story which I thoroughly enjoyed reading.‘ Kim Nash (kimthebookworm)

‘A gorgeous life-affirming read that will make you laugh and cry’ Hayley’s Book Blog

‘What an absolutely fabulous debut novel!’ Reader review

‘This book is a feel good, funny, happy, romantic, lovely story that reaches through the pages, envelopes you in a big warm hug and leaves you smiling from ear to ear.’ Reader review



Love, Unscripted

Love, Unscripted

‘Sometimes a book comes along and it feels dusted with magic – Love, Unscripted is one of those books’ Josie Silver

‘A complete delight’ Holly Bourne

Love, Unscripted follows film projectionist Nick as he tries to understand the difference between love on the big screen and love in real life. Owen Nicholls is perfect for fans of romcoms, David Nicholls and Nick Hornby.

For film projectionist Nick, love should mirror what he sees on the big screen. And when he falls for Ellie on the eve of the 2008 presidential election, it finally does.

For four blissful years, Nick loved Ellie as much as he loved his job splicing film reels together in the local cinema. Life seemed… picture-perfect.

But now it’s 2012, Ellie has moved out and Nick’s trying to figure out where it all went wrong.

With Ellie gone and his life far from the happy ending he imagined, Nick wonders if their romance could ever again be as perfect as the night they met.

Can love really be as it is in the movies?

Readers love Owen Nicholls . . .

‘An unmissable, multi-layered readWoman & Home

‘A fun, entertaining story with bags of heart – the book equivalent of a classic rom-com’ CultureFly

A nostalgic read for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls . . . [a] smart funny novelHeat

‘A refreshing take on the typical boy-meets-girl romance . . . an unmissable read’ Woman’s Weekly

Cute romcom full of cinematic references’ The Sun (Fabulous Magazine)

A gorgeous romcom filled with movie references and Obama-era nostalgia’ Kate Davies, author of In At The Deep End

An astutely observed romantic comedy that had me shaking with laughter and sniffing away tears. Pure pleasure.’ Empire Magazine

‘Smartly observed romcom . . . bursting with some very cute cultural referencesSunday Mirror

The perfect read for film enthusiasts’ Woman Magazine

Charming read’ Woman’s Way

This is one of the best books I have ever read. If When Harry Met Sally and High Fidelity had a book baby, this would be it’ Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us

High Fidelity for the multiplex generation. Owen Nicholls makes it look easy but it’s a smart and funny book, laced with wisdom. A lovely, warm, engaging read.’ Richard Lumsden, author of The Six Loves of Billy Binns

A properly funny, clever, bittersweet romcom‘ Richard Roper, author of Something to Live For

One of the most realistic love stories I have read‘ Michelle Elman, author of Am I Ugly?
Filter by +
  • New Releases
  • Coming Soon
  • Emma Cooper
  • Olivia Beirne
  • Owen Nicholls

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.