Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The State We're In

The State We're In

What are the odds that the stranger sitting next to you on a plane is destined to change your life? Especially when they appear to be your opposite in every way…

The No. 1 ebook bestseller, The State We’re In, is the stunning, emotionally powerful novel from Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks, author of The Stranger In My Home. The perfect read for fans of Jane Green and Sheila O’Flanagan.

Jo is a hopeless romantic. Worried she let her soulmate slip away, she’s chasing her past all the way to Chicago to break up her ex-fiancé’s wedding.

Dean is a resolute cynic. After a brief (but not brief enough) trip to London, he’s returning to Chicago, where he moved to escape his dysfunctional past.

In the time it takes to fly from London to Chicago, each finds something in the other that they didn’t even realise they needed.

But it’s only when they get off the plane that their true journey begins…

What readers are saying about The State We’re In:

‘This book is full of surprises and twists that keep you guessing until the end. It is one of those books that I was absolutely devastated to have finished

You will laugh, you may cry, but on the whole it is an extremely heart-warming tale that delivers a generous dose of optimism
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance

On Sale: 14th June 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755371396

Reviews

A big final twist that will keep you reading
<i>Heat</i>
The story is completely mesmerising, and the ending heartbreakingly epic. Adele has created a cast of characters that completely cover the moral spectrum. The State We're In is a superb triumph
<i>We Love This Book</i>
A wonderful exploration of love
Katie Fforde
An emotional rollercoaster of a read
<i>Woman & Home</i>
Utterly engrossing and beautifully written
Freya North
A fairy tale with bite. Sparkly, compelling and - ultimately unexpected
Jane Fallon
Written with wit, and finishes with a surprisingly bittersweet twist
<i>Sunday Mirror</i>
A perceptive insight into family life, both idyllic and dreadful, and the individuals that are part of it. The characters are all people that you can believe in...and the ending? It's an absolute stunner!
<i>Our Book Reviews</i>
A heart-breaking twist
<i>Mail On Sunday</i>
This novel has been tenderly and beautifully written and will stay with me
<i>A Lover Of Books</i>
Well observed, original and wonderfully crafted, this is my favourite Adele Parks book to date
<i>Sun</i>
A must read. Romantic, yet truthful, this is a moving love story with unforgettable characters
Jenny Colgan
Sweet, sharp and simply unforgettable
Lisa Jewell
This book made me laugh, caught at my heart and then broke it. The story is clearly building to something but I didn't know what - I won't spoil it but this is definitely not one for public transport
<i>A Case for Books</i>
Adele Parks' wonderful and heart breaking new novel will stay with you
Chris Manby
Adele Parks is a deft observer of human nature
Kathleen Tessaro
A cleverly written and tragically beautiful story filled with empathy and regret, that will stay in your thoughts for a long time, The State We're In is a story of love, family, abandonment and putting ghosts to rest. A haunting tale that will leave you in floods. This truly is Adele Parks at her best, I can't recommend this book enough
<i>Handwritten Girl</i>
This is Adele Parks at her very best
<i>Fabulous</i>
An emotional punch of an ending
<i>Good Housekeeping</i>
A thrilling cross-generational love story. We can't think of many authors who create more flawed and loveable characters
<i>Glamour</i>
A sweet, moving and romantic story that will captivate you from the first page
<i>Closer</i>
A heart-warming, heart breaking tale of love and loss, with an ending that will knock you off your feet. This is Adele Parks at the top of her game
Mike Gayle