Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Liverpool Lullaby

A Liverpool Lullaby

The shocking truth of her parentage causes a young woman’s future to be thrown into disarray…

Anne Baker’s gripping saga, A Liverpool Lullaby, follows a young girl’s search for happiness, and for a sense of belonging. Perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Sheila Newberry.


‘It is a truly compelling and sentimental story and rich in language and descriptive prose’ – Newcastle-upon-Tyne Evening Chronicle

Young and pretty Evie Hobson spends her days serving behind the counter at her father’s Chemist shop. Joseph Hobson is a bullying man and Evie isn’t the only one who lives in fear of her father’s violent temper. Then one day a bedraggled woman enters the shop and dies on the premises. Evie is shocked to discover she was in fact her mother, whom she had been told was dead. Why had her father lied to her? What secret was he trying to keep? One thing’s for sure, Evie can’t take much more from him and when she catches the eye of local lad Ned Collins they plan to run away to begin a new life together. But even when she has escaped and has started a family with Ned, Evie has a long way to go before her happiness is secured…

What readers are saying about A Liverpool Lullaby:

‘Another brilliant read, Anne Baker never fails to deliver… whenever I read one of her books I am gripped from beginning to end

‘Very good – didn’t want to put the book down
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 9th December 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382385

Reviews

A gentle tale with all the right ingredients for a heartwarming novel
Huddersfield Daily Examiner
Baker's understanding and compassion for very human dilemmas makes her one of romantic fiction's most popular authors
Lancashire Evening Post
A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition
Liverpool Echo
With characters who are strong, warm and sincere, this is a joy to read
Coventry Evening Telegraph
A compelling book that you just don't want to put down
Southport Visitor
Truly compelling... rich in language and descriptive prose
Newcastle Upon Tyne Evening Chronicle