Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Prisoner of Night and Fog

Prisoner of Night and Fog

An ordinary girl faces an extraordinary choice in this gripping, coming-of-age tale of secrets and courage set in Nazi Germany, perfect for readers who enjoyed The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.’

It’s terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true’ Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity

Munich, 1931. Gretchen Muller has been cherished and protected by Adolf Hitler ever since her father, a senior Nazi officer, sacrificed himself to save the life of the Führer. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more, under the command of her ‘Uncle Dolf’.

But secrets cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen meets a young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen, who claims that her father was actually murdered, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, and the motives of her dearest friends now in question, Gretchen must risk everything to determine her own allegiances – even if her choices could get her and Daniel killed.


What readers are saying about Prisoner of Night and Fog:

‘Takes a mature approach to a very serious subject and immerses the reader in the twisted, violent culture of Nazism in the years before Hitler came to power’

‘Blankman has woven her clever and well-researched plot around real people and real events – not least the character of Hitler himself’

‘A great read for anyone who wants a gripping page turner and particularly to those wanting to find out more about a grimly fascinating period of history
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Historical Fiction (children's

On Sale: 6th November 2014

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781472207845

Reviews

Completely engrossing
Publishers Weekly (starred review)
A tremendously cleverly constructed and terrifically compelling story that puts you right back into History - I read this one obsessively and felt every single moment
www.lizlovesbooks.com
I haven't liked a historical fiction novel quite this much since Elizabeth Wein's Rose Under Fire. Prisoner of Night and Fog is completely absorbing. It's well-written and clever, and the sort of book that lingers in your thoughts well after the final pages
www.realmoffiction.blogspot.co.uk
Grabs the reader from its first paragraph.... [A] remarkable book
Jewish Book Council
I'm in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. To read Prisoner of Night and Fog is to be immersed in a breathtaking evocation of Munich in the 1930s, where life is ordinary and skin-crawling by turns, and in the painful, hopeful story of one young girl's awakening conscience. It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true
Elizabeth Wein, author of CODENAME VERITY