We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

He was hoping for a little peace, but is propelled back into all the things he was trying to escape…

John Lescroart introduces Dismas Hardy for the first time in Dead Irish, the gripping crime thriller. Perfect for fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow.

‘With John Lescroart’s polished writing, Dead Irish becomes more than a mystery novel with a bartender as detective. With razor precision, characters stand out, flawed and human… Chilling in its intensity, this is an ingenious tale of many different kinds of people’ – Pasadena Star-News

An ex-policeman, ex-husband and ex-lawyer, Dismas Hardy is now a barman wondering what to do with the rest of his life. Then he hears that one of his friends, Eddie Cochran, has just lost his. It seems that Eddie killed himself but, recently married to Frannie McGuire, the sister of Dismas’ boss Moses, Eddie had a lot to live for. Reluctantly, Dismas agrees to use his long-neglected skills to investigate the death, if only to rescue Frannie from the agony of believing her husband killed himself. At first it appears Eddie was silenced when he stumbled on a drug deal. But Dismas gets to know Eddie’s family and starts to uncover a reservoir of anger rotting the fabric that binds the generations. And then another member of the Cochran clan goes missing…

What readers are saying about Dead Irish:

Nail-biting

‘[This] book is a joy to read

Intricate and fraught with complications, nuanced characters, and believable relationships’

Reviews

The best of the best
Lee Child
High-class...first-rate
<I> Sunday Telegraph </I>
Breathtaking
<I> LA Times </I>
Brilliant
<I> Washington Post </I>
Compulsively readable
<I> San Francisco Chronicle </I>