Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Vig (Dismas Hardy series, book 2)

The Vig (Dismas Hardy series, book 2)

The later you pay, the steeper the price…

Dismas Hardy returns in The Vig, the second instalment in John Lescroart’s stirring series. Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Scott Turow.

‘The plot twists and turns…Hardy is one of the more real and engaging characters in… crime solving’ – Los Angeles Times

Payback is murder.

A beautiful woman paid it with her body. A seedy lawyer used somebody else’s money. It’s the vig – the exorbitant interest mob loan sharks take on their money. Now everyone has to pay…

Down-and-out lawyer Rusty Ingraham left behind a murdered woman and a houseboat splattered with blood. All the evidence said Ingraham was in San Francisco Bay. Dead. But a friend of Ingraham’s, former cop and prosecutor Dismas Hardy, isn’t so sure. And Hardy has to find out, because a stone-cold killer, now paroled, once threatened to kill Ingraham and Dismas Hardy both. To save his own skin, Hardy must face down liars and killers on both sides of the law. From mob foot soldiers to broken-hearted lovers to renegade cops, a dozen lives are tied to the fate of Rusty Ingraham – and the payback has only just begun.

What readers are saying about John Lescroart:

‘[John Lescroart] develops characters and storylines like no other author I have read

‘Lescroart is a very talented and imaginative crime writer’

‘I am never disappointed by any books from John Lescroart’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 21st June 2012

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9780755393374

Reviews

The best of the best
Lee Child
High-class...first-rate
<I> Sunday Telegraph </I>
Breathtaking
<I> LA Times </I>
Brilliant
<I> Washington Post </I>
Compulsively readable
<I> San Francisco Chronicle </I>