Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Daughter's Journey

A Daughter's Journey

A young woman sets out from Ireland for Liverpool in the 1950s and finds success as a fashion designer… but will she find love too?

A Daughter’s Journey is a poignant saga from Lyn Andrews that follows a young woman as she finds her independence, before heartache threatens to take it away. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn.


Angela O’Rourke is six when her parents hand her over to an aunt and uncle in a distant village. It’s a common practice for large, hard-up families in 1950s Ireland, but for Angela it means that her mother and father don’t love her any more.

Angela is well cared for until she’s sixteen, but then her uncle takes to drink, and it’s not safe for her to stay in his house. Moving to Liverpool in the early 1960s, she begins to make her mark in the world of fashion design. But the pain of a disastrous love affair sends her home to Ireland just after the death of her aunt: and there, among old papers, Angela makes an astonishing discovery. As she learns the truth about the past, a brighter new future beckons.

What readers are saying about A Daughter’s Journey:

‘What a fantastic book. The best book I’ve read in a long time. Great story from start to finish and well written

A great, heart-warming read for a Sunday afternoon’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 26th November 2009

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755374427

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo