Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Across a Summer Sea

Across a Summer Sea

For the sake of her children, a young mother endures a violent marriage – but there is hope of better things to come…

Lyn Andrews writes a moving saga in Across a Summer Sea, a tale of a mother’s devotion and taking chances. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.


Mary McGann’s marriage has always been difficult, thanks to her husband Frank’s drunken, jealous nature. Only because the little money he earns in the docks keeps food in the mouths of their children is Mary prepared to put up with him.

When Frank throws them all out on the street, Mary flees to her family in Dublin. There she meets Richard O’Neill, a handsome and gentle man. Despite the attraction between them, Mary’s not looking for love, and when she hears that Frank needs her, she returns to Liverpool, foreseeing a future of yet more hardship.

But there are surprises in store. Though tragedy and danger are looming, a brighter horizon lies beyond – if Mary’s prepared to be strong and take the chances that come her way . . .

What readers are saying about Across a Summer Sea:

‘[Lyn Andrews] is most definitely my favourite author – I have never read anything which has been less than brilliant

‘What a truly enlightening story from heartbreak to untold hardships to finally find true love – beautiful

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 2nd November 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472253507

Reviews

Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express
A compelling read
Woman's Own
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller'
Woman's Weekly