We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Liverpool Songbird

Liverpool Songbird

Is one young woman’s beautiful singing voice enough to bring the success that will free her from poverty?

Liverpool Songbird is a poignant and moving saga from Lyn Andrews, of a young woman’s chance for escape due to her extraordinary talent. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Sheila Newberry.


Alice O’Connor’s poor family lives in the heart of Liverpool’s toughest slum. Her bullying father drinks away what little he earns, whilst Nelly, her careworn mother, works when she can and begs when she can’t. Since she was five young Alice has also begged in the streets around the docks but she has managed to hold on to the hope of something better, a stubborn optimism that keeps her head held high even in her lowest moments.

For Alice knows she has a gift that allows her to rise above the fate that made her life so bitterly hard. Alice O’Connor can sing like an angel… It’s a gift that will take her far, though it is to Liverpool she will always return. But is it enough to bring her the success she needs – and the love and happiness she so desperately craves?

What readers are saying about Liverpool Songbird:

‘Once I started I could NOT put this book down – from start to finish you can empathise with the main character… one of Lyn Andrews’ best books!

One of the best books I’ve read. Compelling reading when the tears allowed. Several twists from an author of immense talent

‘Great rags to riches story… written with compassion and understanding
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 3rd April 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376360

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo