We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Liverpool Songbird

Liverpool Songbird

Lyn Andrews’ touching and nostalgic saga LIVERPOOL SONGBIRD is a must-read for fans of Kate Thompson and Nadine Dorries.

Is one young woman’s beautiful singing voice enough to bring the success that will free her from poverty?

1925. Alice O’Connor’s poor family lives in the heart of Liverpool’s toughest slum. Her bullying father drinks away what little he earns, whilst Nelly, her careworn mother, works when she can and begs when she can’t. Since she was five young Alice has also begged in the streets around the docks but she has managed to hold on to the hope of something better, a stubborn optimism that keeps her head held high even in her lowest moments.

For Alice knows she has a gift that allows her to rise above the fate that made her life so bitterly hard. Alice O’Connor can sing like an angel . . . It’s a gift that will take her far though it is to Liverpool she will always return. But is it enough to bring her the success she needs – and the love and happiness she so desperately craves?

Praise for Lyn Andrews’ unforgettable novels:

‘A compelling read’ Woman’s Own

‘Gutsy . . . A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community . . . will keep the pages turning’ Daily Express

‘A page-turning and beautifully written novel’ Irish World
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 9th July 2020

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472267399