Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Love and a Promise

Love and a Promise

A promise to the woman who saved her life holds Maddy back from following her heart…

Lyn Andrews writes an unforgettable family saga in Love and a Promise, set in both Dublin and Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn.


‘A page-turning and beautifully written novel. The loves and tragedies of the Kiernan siblings will keep you hooked until the very end’ – Irish World

Maddy Kiernan knows her situation is desperate. With her parents dead, her brother Thomas is left as guardian to Maddy and her sister Carmel. But Thomas has plans that don’t include his sisters and his reckless ambition could put all their futures at risk. Sharp-witted and strong-willed, Maddy knows she must assume responsibility for the fragile young Carmel.

When Thomas deserts Ireland for Liverpool, Maddy realises she has little option but to follow. Within days the girls are destitute, their precious savings gone. Even when Maddy finds a position with an elderly widow, Thomas’s aspirations threaten their security. And then Maddy is faced with a terrible choice – between love and a promise…

What readers are saying about Love and a Promise:

‘[This book] was excellent from cover to cover. I found myself staying up late at night just to finish it – you just cannot put it down! It has real life drama, romance and a wonderful ending

‘Once I start a Lyn Andrews book, I cannot stop reading it. I feel as if I have been transported back in time

Love and a Promise is a great and gripping story, I just had to continue until I’d finished the book. It is a great story of rags to riches and the heartbreak in between – just a lovely story’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 2nd November 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472253514

Reviews

A compelling read
Woman's Own
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller'
Woman's Weekly
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express