Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Where the Mersey Flows

Where the Mersey Flows

A young girl determines to leave her privileged upbringing behind for Liverpool’s slums, but can her new life bring love and happiness?

Lyn Andrews writes a compelling saga in Where the Mersey Flows – a reminder of the power of friendship, loyalty and love. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.


Leah Cavendish and Nora O’Brian seem to have little in common – except their friendship. Nora is a domestic servant and Leah the daughter of a wealthy haulage magnate but both are isolated beneath the roof of the opulent Cavendish household. Instantly they recognise kindred spirits in each other.

When Nora is unfairly flung on to the streets by Leah’s grasping brother-in-law, the outraged Leah follows her, defiantly declaring her intention to move into a house in Liverpool’s docklands, alongside Nora and her impoverished family. But nothing can prepare Leah for the squalor that greets her in Oil Street. Nor for Sean Maguire, Nora’s defiant Irish neighbour…

What readers are saying about Where the Mersey Flows:

‘This novel is gripping and interestingA stunning read

Wonderful story, as always with this author – five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Historical Romance

On Sale: 3rd April 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376469

Reviews

The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo