Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Summer of Secrets

Summer of Secrets

The unforgettable novel from Nikola Scott about two women – born decades apart – each faced with the knowledge that a man in their lives is not what he seems… Perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.

AN EBOOK BESTSELLER

‘An atmospheric and gripping read’ My Weekly

‘Wonderful characters and a very moving storyline’ Sun

‘I was completely enthralled’ Kathryn Hughes

‘I loved this touching exploration of love and its capacity for consolation and destruction… compelling and satisfying ‘ Judith Lennox

August 1939

At peaceful Summerhill, orphaned Maddy hides from the world and the rumours of war. Then her adored sister Georgina returns from a long trip with a new friend, the handsome Victor. Maddy fears that Victor is not all he seems, but she has no idea just what kind of danger has come into their lives…

Today

Chloe is newly pregnant. This should be a joyful time, but she is fearful for the future, despite her husband’s devotion. When chance takes her to Summerhill, she’s drawn into the mystery of what happened there decades before. And the past reaches out to touch her in ways that could change everything…

What readers are saying about Summer of Secrets:

‘An absolute joy… If you only read one book this year I recommend this one’ 5 Star Amazon Reviewer

Nikola Scott has a magical way of piecing her stories together and has done her characters proud with the way she has written their journeys. An emotionally charged, harrowing and majestic novel’ Kaisha at The Writing Garnet

‘Such an intriguing story with a balance of lighter and darker moments. Rich in detail and beautifully told. Five stars from me!’ Rachel at Rae Reads
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 6th September 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472241184

Reviews

Wonderful characters and a very moving storyline
Sun
Absolutely captivating
www.josbookblog.co.uk
Beautifully written
Daily Mail
A delightful debut about family and secrets
Prima
An intriguing twisting story with a lush opening and beautifully descriptive writing throughout. I loved it
Dinah Jefferies, author of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE
An emotional and involving story
Woman & Home
Nikola Scott has a magical way of piecing her stories together and she has done her characters proud with the way she has written their journeys. An emotionally charged, harrowing and majestic novel
Kaisha, The Writing Garnet
The perfect book to lose yourself in.... I found myself completely absorbed in the lives of the sisters both past and present
Jo, Over the Rainbow Book Blog
Impossible to put down, utterly compelling, brilliant writing. Highly Recommended!
Hot Brands Cool Places
Nikola Scott has a real gift for writing sumptuous, atmospheric fiction, pulling you into her world immediately, keeping you captivated throughout and making it very difficult for you to want to let go by the end
Beth, Bibliobeth
I urge you to go out and buy your copy now. I finished it last night and it's all I can think about since... Emotionally charged, heartbreaking and beautiful
Nicola, Novel Delights Book Blog
Summer of Secrets is a book about family and friendship, secrets, trust and love. A tense read at times, especially in the last chapters. I thoroughly enjoyed it
Joanne, Portobello Book Blog
Praise for Nikola Scott: 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant'
Fabulous
Poignant
www.bookphace.blogspot.co.uk
A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose
Erin Kelly
I couldn't tear myself away.... A compelling read. Heartbreaking and emotional, tense and gripping. This was my first book I've read by Nikola but it most definitely won't be the last!
Katie, Katie’s Book Cave
I really loved this book... The stories weave together seamlessly and are so cleverly aligned it is a joy to read
Julie, A Little Book Problem
A compelling family story... beautifully written... evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s
Sheila O'Flanagan
Compelling, atmospheric and beautifully written...trembles with family secrets. I adored it
Victoria Fox
A satisfying tale with characters you wont forget
Sunday Express
An atmospheric and gripping read
My Weekly
Delightful...Beautifully written and hugely enjoyable
The People
Had me captivated from page one right through to the end... Moreish, full of emotion, drama and beautifully written. Highly recommended!!
Karen Mace, Books and Me