Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Eagle and the Wolves (Eagles of the Empire 4)

The Eagle and the Wolves (Eagles of the Empire 4)

IF YOU DON’T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON’T KNOW ROME!

THE EAGLE AND THE WOLVES is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. ‘A new book in Simon Scarrow’s long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy’ The Times

Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Cato, newly promoted, and veteran centurion Macro are ordered to train the Wolves and the Boars, two cohorts of barbarian Britons, and introduce them to the brutal drills of the Roman Imperial Army. Macro is confident they’ll win the natives over, but Cato worries about putting weapons into the hands of potential rebels.

Ultimately, only one thing matters: is there a difference between the enemy at their gates, and the allies in their own camp?
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 4th September 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755350858

Reviews

Simon Scarrow's stories of Roman military action in Britain have gathered quite a fan club and it's not hard to see why... Scarrow is highly skilled at describing violent action... for those who like their historical fiction to include plenty of bloody thrills and spills, Scarrow's latest book will prove irresistible
<i>Living History</i>
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read'
Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best
Independent
Ferocious and compelling
Daily Express
Gripping and moving
The Times
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff
Good Book Guide
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction
Sunday Sport
Rollicking good fun
Mail on Sunday
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller
BBC History Magazine