We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

AD 58. BRITANNIA. TENSION IS SIMMERING. DANGER LIES ROUND EVERY CORNER FOR ROME’S BRAVE SOLDIERS …

Fifteen years after Rome’s invasion of Britannia, centurion Marco is back. The island is settled now, bustling with commerce. Macro’s goal is to help run his mother’s Londinium inn, and exploit his land grant. He’s prepared for the dismal weather and the barbaric ways of the people. But far worse dangers threaten all his plans.

A gang led by an ex-legionary rules the city, demanding protection money and terrorising those who won’t pay up. The Roman official in charge has turned a blind eye. Macro has to act. He needs the back-up of the finest soldier he knows: Prefect Cato. But Cato is in distant Rome. Or is he?

As the streets run red with blood, the army’s heroes face an enemy as merciless and cunning as any barbarian tribe. The honour of Rome is in their hands …

For readers of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Ben Kane – unputdownable fiction from an author who knows the Roman world like no other.

IF YOU DON’T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON’T KNOW ROME

Praise for the Eagles of the Empire novels:

‘Scarrow’s novels rank with the best’ Independent

‘Blood, gore, political intrigue’ Daily Sport

‘Always a joy’ The Times

Reviews

Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'Gripping ... ferocious and compelling'
Daily Express
'A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy'
The Times
'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read'
Bernard Cornwell