Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3)

When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3)

IF YOU DON’T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON’T KNOW ROME!

WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. ‘Scarrow’s [novels] rank with the best’ Independent

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome’s lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after.

But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself.

So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance…
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 4th September 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755350834

Reviews

The third in Scarrow's historical series featuring hardbitten Roman centurion Macro and his young sidekick Cato - and it's probably the best... Rollicking good fun
<i>Mail on Sunday</i>
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read'
Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best
Independent
Gripping and moving
The Times
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff
Good Book Guide
Ferocious and compelling
Daily Express
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction
Sunday Sport
Rollicking good fun
Mail on Sunday
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller
BBC History Magazine