Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Past Life

Past Life

THEY TOOK EVERYTHING FROM DETECTIVE ABIGAIL BOONE. EVEN HER MEMORY.

From a blistering new voice in crime fiction, PAST LIFE is a razor-sharp thriller perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Tana French, Joseph Knox, Jane Harper, Don Winslow and Belinda Bauer.

‘A beautifully written debut’ Daily Mail
‘One hell of a debut. Heat
‘A great story told with real poise‘ Simon Kernick, Sunday Times bestseller
This is crime as it should be written…gripping, addictive, a thrill of a ride.’ Jo Spain, international bestseller

***
Waking up beside the dead girl, she couldn’t remember anything.
Who she was. Who had taken her. How to escape.

Detective Abigail Boone has been missing for four days when she is finally found, confused and broken. Suffering retrograde amnesia, she is a stranger to her despairing husband and bewildered son.

Hopelessly lost in her own life, with no leads on her abduction, Boone’s only instinct is to revisit the case she was investigating when she vanished: the baffling disappearance of a young woman, Sarah Still.

Defying her family and the police, Boone obsessively follows a deadly trail to the darkest edges of human cruelty. But even if she finds Sarah, will Boone ever be the same again?

‘An astonishing debut’ Woman’s Own
‘A smart, distinctive debut’ Sunday Mirror
‘I loved it…It’s taut, beautifully written and at some points the tension is almost too much to bear.‘ Harriet Tyce
‘I really loved this…a twisting, heart-wrenching story with wonderfully vivid characters’ Claire McGowan
‘Memory is at the centre of Nolan’s bold and sharply written book…In a genre oversaturated by samey stories, Past Life is a dark crime fiction debut that feels fresh, smart and thrilling.’ Culturefly

WHY BLOGGERS AND READERS ARE GRIPPED BY PAST LIFE:

‘Gripped me from page one all the way to the end…an assured and adept novel from another fresh writer entering the crime fiction arena. A superb debut you won’t forget!‘ ***** Crimesquad

‘An amazing debut novel
Anne Bonny Book Reviews

‘I highly recommend to anyone
but especially to those who like their crime fiction to have genuine depth…loved it.’ LizLovesBooks

‘Past Life is gripping and completely intense; once it grabs a hold of you, it refuses to let go.’ The Book Magnet

Beautifully written, thrilling and heartbreaking…I can really see this in my top ten reads of 2019 and it’s only February.’ Lost In The Land of Books

‘An AMAZING debut novel’ ***** Goodreads reviewer

‘A fast-paced electric thriller of book…a 5-star read for me.’ ***** Goodreads reviewer

‘That’s a damn good read.’ ***** Goodreads reviewer
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 8th August 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472254665

Reviews

A great story told with real poise
Simon Kernick
Memory is at the centre of Nolan's bold and sharply written book...In a genre oversaturated by samey stories, Past Life is a dark crime fiction debut that feels fresh, smart and thrilling
Culturefly
I really loved this...a twisting, heart-wrenching story with wonderfully vivid characters
Claire McGowan
It's gripping, addictive, a thrill of a ride. This is crime as it should be written. one of the best, original introductions of a protagonist I've read
Jo Spain
A policewoman suffering amnesia must find the truth about her own violent kidnapping in Dominic Nolan's thrilling, roller coaster debut. Tense, gripping and full of twists and turns, this read will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Dead Good Books