Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Eagle's Prey (Eagles of the Empire 5)

The Eagle's Prey (Eagles of the Empire 5)

IF YOU DON’T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON’T KNOW ROME!

THE EAGLE’S PREY is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow’s gripping historical novels: ‘Ferocious and compelling’ Daily Express

Britannia, AD 44. The time has come to claim Britain for the Empire. Centurions Cato and Macro are preparing for what their leaders say will be the final battle against those natives refusing to accept the civilising force of Rome. The British savages will surely stand no chance against the might of the unstoppable Roman army.

But young Cato is more concerned about hot-headed cohort commander, Maximius, than about the enemy, and with Roman troops being brutally slaughtered, even grizzled veteran Macro is having doubts about the promised ease of their success. Will they be victorious – or will the battle cost both of them more than they could ever imagine?
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 4th September 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755350865

Reviews

'A satisfying, bloodthirsty, bawdy romp. Perfect for Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action'
<i>The Good Book Guide</i>
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read'
Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best
Independent
Gripping and moving
The Times
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff
Good Book Guide
Ferocious and compelling
Daily Express
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction
Sunday Sport
Rollicking good fun
Mail on Sunday
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller
BBC History Magazine