Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Eagle's Prey (Eagles of the Empire 5)

The Eagle's Prey (Eagles of the Empire 5)

THE EAGLE’S PREY is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

It is late summer 44 AD and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops’ commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the Emperor to crush the natives once and for all.

Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus and it’s their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus’s nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.

Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become a fugitive pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades, as well as the Britons, Cato’s small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals…

(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 13th April 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472248718

Reviews

Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read'
Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best
Independent
Gripping and moving
The Times
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff
Good Book Guide
Ferocious and compelling
Daily Express
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction
Sunday Sport
Rollicking good fun
Mail on Sunday
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller
BBC History Magazine