Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Motive (Alex Delaware series, Book 30)

Motive (Alex Delaware series, Book 30)

New clues lead to new avenues of darkness…

Alex Delaware returns in Motive, a thrilling new case featuring one of the most devious murderers ever conceived by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman. Perfect for fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci.


‘[Motive] will even keep genre veterans guessing… The twists are both shocking and logical, and the byplay between the leads entertaining’ – Publishers Weekly

Even hundreds of closed cases to his credit can’t keep LAPD police lieutenant Milo Sturgis from agonising over the crimes that don’t get solved – and the victims who go without justice. Victims like Katherine Hennepin, a young woman strangled and stabbed in her home. A single suspect with a solid alibi leads to a dead end – one even psychologist Alex Delaware’s expert insight can’t explain. The only thing to do is move on to the next murder case – because there is always a next one.

This time the victim is Ursula Corey, a successful, attractive divorcee who’s been gunned down – not a robbery but an execution, a crime that smacks of simple, savage revenge. And along with that theoretical motive come two strong contenders for the role of suspect: the dead woman’s business partner/ex-husband and her divorce lawyer/secret lover. But just as Alex and Milo think they’re zeroing in on the killer, a bizarre new clue stirs up echoes of the unsolved Hennepin murder. And the discovery of yet another crime scene bearing the same taunting signature raises the spectre of a serial killer on a mission, whose twisted method is exceeded only by his manipulative and cunning madness.

What readers are saying about Motive:

I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough

Brilliantly written, exciting and fast paced

‘Before you know it you are engrossed and utterly addicted
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 10th February 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472206428

Reviews

Praise for Jonathan Kellerman: [Motive] will even keep genre veterans guessing... The twists are both shocking and logical, and the byplay between the leads entertaining
Publishers Weekly
Simply too good to miss
Stephen King
Suspenseful... neatly spun, fascinating
Philadelphia Daily News
Jonathan Kellerman's psychology skills and dark imagination are a potent literary mix
Los Angeles Times
Exciting... a tour de force
New York Times
Spellbinding suspense... unforgettable
Houston Chronicle
Sophisticated, cleverly plotted and satisfying
Sunday Telegraph
High-octane entertainment
The Times
Kellerman doesn't just write psychological thrillers - he owns the genre
Detroit Free Press
Coolly intelligent
GQ