Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Self-Defence (Alex Delaware series, Book 9)

Self-Defence (Alex Delaware series, Book 9)

Could her murderous nightmares be repressed memories?

Self-Defence is an ingenious and terrifying thriller from New York Times No. 1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman. Perfect for fans of James Patterson and Harlan Coben.


‘[An] absorbing thriller in which Kellerman steers deftly round blind alleys and false clues to arrive at intolerable truths’ – Literary Review

Lucy Lowell is traumatised after serving jury duty on the trial of a depraved killer. Horrific images haunt her waking life and at night she’s terrorised by the recurring nightmare of a small child watching a terrible scene unfold in a darken wood.

Lucy’s terrified that she’s losing her grip on reality. Her psychologist, Alex Delaware, thinks her dreams are repressed memories of something very real – a very real murder. Alex knows that delving into Lucy’s mind might awaken past terrors but nothing could have prepared him for the horrors about to be unleashed…

What readers are saying about Self-Defence:

‘Virtually impossible to put down!

Fantastic book’

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure

On Sale: 9th April 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755351695

Reviews

Praise for Jonathan Kellerman: [An] absorbing thriller in which Kellerman steers deftly round blind alleys and false clues to arrive at intolerable truths
Literary Review
A gruesome novel psychodrama of depravity and organised vice...assured skill and horripilating effect
Observer
Good twists and a wicked portrait of Hollywood and Californian mores
Time Out
Simply too good to miss
Stephen King
Exceptionally exciting
New York Times
Sophisticated, cleverly plotted and satisfying
Sunday Telegraph
High-octane entertainment
The Times
Ingenious and horrifying
The Sunday Times
Kellerman doesn't just write psychological thrillers - he owns the genre
Detroit Free Press
Strong insights into the quirks of human and criminal behaviour
Guardian