Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Ashworth Hall (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 17)

Ashworth Hall (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 17)

Can Pitt solve the case before the killer strikes again?

The murder of a prominent politician has links to Irish civil unrest in Anne Perry’s gripping Victorian mystery, Ashworth Hall. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘Elegant period novel with a contemporary resonance’ – Guardian

When a group of powerful Irish Protestants and Catholics gather at a country house to discuss Irish home rule, contention is to be expected. But when the meeting’s moderator, government bigwig Ainsley Greville, is found murdered in his bath, negotiations seem doomed. Unless Superintendent Thomas Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, can root out the truth, simmering hatreds and passions may again explode in murder.

What readers are saying about Anne Perry:

‘The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets’

‘These are a great set of books. Pitt is a really likeable hero

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472218179

Reviews

The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
This subtle play on sex roles, a constant in this rewarding series, may well be the secret of its profound appeal
New York Times
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Elegant period novel with a contemporary resonance
The Guardian
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman