Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Hyde Park Headsman (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 14)

The Hyde Park Headsman (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 14)

Beheadings in Hyde Park terrorise Victorian London…

A series of attacks in Hyde Park has Superintendent Pitt’s work cut out, as he pursues a deadly killer in Anne Perry’s gripping mystery, The Hyde Park Headsman. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘[Anne] Perry’s strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist’ – The Wall Street Journal

Not since the bloody deeds of Jack the Ripper have Londoners felt such terror as that caused by the gruesome beheadings in Hyde Park. And if newly promoted Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt does not catch the murderer quickly, he is likely to lose his own head, professionally speaking. Yet even with the help of Charlotte Pitt’s subtle investigation, the sinister violence continues unchecked. And in a shocking turn of events, the case proves to be Pitt’s toughest ever.

What readers are saying about The Hyde Park Headsman:

Gripping story

‘This was a real page turner, enjoyed it enormously

‘Anne Perry writes with amazing clarity of London – a joy to pick up each book
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472218148

Reviews

When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Thrilling... [Perry's] understanding of the historically rich period enables her to devise a plot true to its time yet timeless in its approach to human nature
The Orlando Sentine
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Perry's immense talent makes [this] one of the best mysteries of the season and confirms her as the finest writer of historical mysteries around today
Toronto Sun
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Full of suspense, intrigue, politics and psychological insights
Winston-Salem Journal
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
A corking good story... [Perry is] a pre-eminent writer of Victorian mysteries
Chicago Sun-Times
Splendidly plotted... explores the nature of power while adding detail and color to Perry's ever more elaborate tapestry of late-nineteenth-century London life
Publisher's Weekly