Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Silence in Hanover Close (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 9)

Silence in Hanover Close (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 9)

A secret so shocking it will lead to murder including, quite possibly, Pitt’s own…

In Anne Perry’s ninth crime novel featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, an unsolved murder will take the acclaimed Victorian policeman into the gravest danger.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.

‘Descriptions of London’s Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating’ – St. Petersburg Times

When Thomas Pitt is required to reopen a murder case in Hanover Close, he doesn’t know how perilous it will become. Three years earlier Robert York, who worked for the Foreign Office, was murdered. Pitt believes a mysterious woman may hold the key to his death, and his suspicion deepens when one of the York household’s maids dies suddenly – soon after talking to him. Then Pitt himself is arrested for the murder of the woman he’d been seeking. Only Charlotte and her sister Emily can stand between Pitt and the gallows.
Charlotte and Emily find a way to delve deep into the confidences of the York family and their household, but with Pitt in prison and a murderer among the inhabitants of Hanover Close, they are playing a deadly game…

What readers are saying about Silence in Hanover Close:

‘Excellent read… you will struggle to put it down

‘Another excellent book in the Thomas Pitt series; easy to read and well researched into the social life of Victorian era’

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472227607

Reviews

Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating
St. Petersburg Times
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
New York Times Book Review
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal