Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Brunswick Gardens (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 18)

Brunswick Gardens (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 18)

Does the murder of a young woman have a religious cause?

Anne Perry’s Brunswick Gardens delves deep into the politics of the church, uncovering thwarted ambitions, unfulfilled promises and frustrated passions amid murder. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.


‘Beautifully crafted, filled with the gaslit atmosphere of a bygone world’ – Cosmopolitan

In London’s affluent Brunswick Gardens, the battle over Charles Darwin’s revolutionary theory of evolution intensifies as the respected Reverend Parmenter is boldly challenged by his beautiful assistant, Unity Bellwood – a ‘new woman’ whose feminism and aggressive Darwinism he finds appalling. When Unity, three months pregnant, tumbles down a staircase to her death, Superintendent Thomas Pitt is certain that one of the three deeply devout men in the house committed murder. Could it have been the Reverend Parmenter? His handsome curate? Or his son, a fervent Roman Catholic? Pitt and his clever wife, Charlotte, will refuse to settle for less than the truth – or less than justice.

What readers are saying about Anne Perry:

‘[Anne Perry’s] books are always gripping and beautifully written

‘These are a great set of books. Pitt is a really likeable hero

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472218186

Reviews

When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
In a richly textured narrative, a solution emerges which... is at once neat and satisfying
The Scotsman
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Mersmerising... a great place to begin what I guarantee will become a Perry addiction
Los Angeles Times
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
Beautifully crafted, filled with the gaslit atmosphere of a bygone world
Cosmopolitan
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal