Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Belgrave Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 12)

Belgrave Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 12)

Will the hidden layers of conspiracy triumph before Pitt can solve the case?

A grisly murder of a moneylender draws Inspector Pitt once more into a world of power and greed in Anne Perry’s Belgrave Square. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Sherlock Holmes.


‘[Anne] Perry’s characters are vivid and well-drawn… If you want to be privy to the romance, politics, and scandal of Victorian London, this descriptive, leisurely paced mystery may well be your cup of Earl Grey tea’ – Houston Chronicle

The murder in Clerkenwell of an obscure moneylender named William Weems brings discreet rejoicing among those whose meagre earnings he so mercilessly devoured. Yet when Inspector Thomas Pitt finds a list including some of London’s most distinguished gentlemen in Weems’ office, he begins to realize this was no common usurer but a vicious blackmailer. Charlotte Pitt has connections to this distinguished London society, and, at glittering balls and over gossipy tea tables, she begins to perceive a world of passion, power, and greed that the police are seldom permitted to see…

What readers are saying about Belgrave Square:

Brilliant set of books. Will carry on reading them as fast as Anne Perry writes them, they are simply the best

‘I love all Anne Perry books, this was no exception, [was] sorry when I got to the end

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472218124

Reviews

With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
[Anne] Perry's characters are vivid and well-drawn... If you want to be privy to the romance, politics, and scandal of Victorian London, this descriptive, leisurely paced mystery may well be your cup of Earl Grey tea
Houston Chronicle
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
The author has the eyes of a hawk for character nuance and her claws out for the signs of... criminal injustice
New York Times Book Review
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer