Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Traitors Gate (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 15)

Traitors Gate (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 15)

A body is found floating towards Traitors Gate – a coincidence, or symbolic?

In the fifteenth novel in the Thomas Pitt mystery series, Thomas and Charlotte must battle against the political games at play in the foggy streets of Victorian London. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.


‘Perry’s infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political views of Victorian society at play’ – New York Times Book Review

Someone in the Colonial Office is passing secrets to Germany about England’s strategy on Africa. While Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt investigates this matter of treason, he is quietly looking into the tragic death of his childhood mentor, Sir Arthur Desmond. Pitt believes that Sir Arthur was murdered, and that the crime is connected with the treachery in the government. And when the strangled body of an aristocratic society beauty is found floating near lonely Traitors Gate, Pitt and his clever wife, Charlotte, begin to see clearly the pattern of tragedy and frightening evil that Pitt must deal with, at the risk of his career – and his life.

What readers are saying about Traitors Gate:

‘Another excellent Anne Perry’

She takes you into the heart of Victorian London

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472218155

Reviews

Perry's infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political views of Victorian society at play and tantalising glimpses of a confident, assertive creative known as "the new woman"
New York Times Book Review
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian