Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10)

Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10)

Westminster is struck by a deadly killer…

In Anne Perry’s tenth Victorian mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, a murderer strikes at Members of Parliament crossing Westminster Bridge.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.

‘[Anne] Perry once again demonstrates her true and lively passion… Her finely drawn characters couldn’t be more comfortable within the customs and sensibility of their historical period’ – New York Times Book Review

In the few minutes it takes to cross Westminster Bridge, Sir Lockwood Hamilton has his throat slit and is tied to a lamppost with his evening scarf. The killer vanishes without being seen. Inspector Thomas Pitt thinks the motive might have been personal… or political. When a second Member of Parliament is murdered in the same way, politics seems certain to be the reason. Soon the suspect list includes anarchists and suffragettes. Public outrage mounts and fear grips London and Parliament after a third lamppost murder. Deep in his own investigation, Pitt must rely on his wife, Charlotte, and Great-aunt Vespasia to explore the drawing rooms of the upper class for clues to the mystery. With burning social issues swirling around them, the three of them must solve the case before another MP falls victim to the Westminster cutthroat.

What readers are saying about Bethlehem Road:

‘These are a great set of books. Pitt is a really likeable hero

I could not put it down. One of her best works’

Gripping read
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472227614

Reviews

Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating
St. Petersburg Times
[Anne] Perry once again demonstrates her true and lively passion... Her finely drawn characters couldn't be more comfortable within the customs and sensibility of their historical period
The New York Times Book Review
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune