Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6)

Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6)

A tidy solution to a murder makes Inspector Pitt uneasy – is there more to this case than meets the eye?

In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman’s sordid murder – or an innocent man will hang.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.

‘The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry’s] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes’ – Cleveland Plain Dealer

The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London’s most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt’s efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding.

All evidence points to Arthur’s tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don’t believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy’s family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman’s noose.

What readers are saying about Bluegate Fields:

‘A thought-provoking whodunit’

‘Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable

Another winner for Anne Perry – five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472227577

Reviews

Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
New York Times Book Review
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating
St. Petersburg Times
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer