Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Resurrection Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 4)

Resurrection Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 4)

The doctors insist that Lord Augustus’ death was natural. But as far as the police are concerned, there’s certainly nothing natural about what happens next…

In the fourth Victorian mystery featuring Inspector Thomas Pitt, the detective is faced with a frightening case of bodies that won’t stay buried. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.


‘Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing’ – Guardian

Lord Fitzroy-Hammond of Resurrection Row has been dead and buried three weeks when he turns up sitting atop a hansom cab. Grave robbing, though a crime, isn’t Inspector Thomas Pitt’s usual work. But when the macabre joke is repeated, and the man’s corpse is found sitting in the family pew following his second burial, and other disinterred bodies appear, Pitt begins to wonder if a message is being sent.

A new mother, Charlotte Pitt only takes a cursory interest in the case until she hears Thomas mention her late sister’s husband as a possible suspect. As Pitt follows leads into the slums and rookeries, she too is drawn into the politics and horrors of greed and exploitation. For Pitt and Charlotte, what begins as a bizarre mystery becomes a deadly pursuit through the London underworld of pornographic photographers, brothels, and sweatshops.

What readers are saying about Resurrection Row:

‘A wonderfully gruesome novel from Anne Perry… Her research into the murky world of [grave digging] cannot be faulted

‘This one has a particularly ingenious plot and I was delighted to see that the interesting and mildly eccentric Aunt Vespasia was back again’

‘Another thrilling read from Anne Perry’
Read More

Genre:

On Sale: 26th March 2015

Price: £3.49

ISBN-13: 9781472227553

Reviews

Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
New York Times Book Review
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Well observed period detail, a fascination with miscarriages of justice and the high drama of the law
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution