Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Cardington Crescent (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 8)

Cardington Crescent (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 8)

With only Inspector Pitt believing in the accused’s innocence, can he hope to uncover the truth in time?

In Anne Perry’s eighth Victorian mystery, featuring Inspector Thomas Pitt, Charlotte Pitt’s sister is charged with murder.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.

‘Perry gets the Victorian mood just right… Settle in with this one on a rainy day’ – Booklist

As Inspector Thomas Pitt works to resolve the case of a dismembered woman, his brother-in-law, George March, Lord Ashworth, is poisoned. The police’s main suspect: Charlotte’s sister, Emily. Convinced of her innocence, Charlotte and Pitt take on the March clan with the help of her formidable Great-aunt Vespasia, attempting to break through their wall of deceit and silence. When Emily finds Sybilla March, George’s suspected mistress, strangled by her hair, the case would seem hopeless for anyone but the Pitts. Their pursuit of the truth takes them down a path of corruption, depravity, and murder, from the elegant townhouses lining fashionable Cardington Crescent to the horrifying slums of London.

What readers are saying about Cardington Crescent:

‘This has been the best read of the Thomas Pitt series. Didn’t want to put the book down

‘A wonderful read, kept me guessing who the murderer was right up until the end!’

A fascinating plot and a good portrayal of the Victorian era’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472227591

Reviews

Perry gets the Victorian mood just right... Settle in with this one on a rainy day
Booklist
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
New York Times Book Review
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal