Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Pentecost Alley (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 16)

Pentecost Alley (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 16)

Pitt’s pursuit of the truth makes him some powerful enemies…

After sending a man to the gallows for the murder of a Whitechapel prostitute two years after the ghastly crimes of Jack the Ripper, Superintendent Thomas Pitt is suddenly confronted with another chillingly similar killing that raises speculation that the wrong man has been convicted… or that the Ripper has returned. The thrilling sixteeth novel in Anne Perry’s Thomas Pitt mystery series would be the perfect read for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.


‘Stands as one of her most intricately constructed plots… Perry packs a triple wallop into the final pages, one climax following another’ – Chicago Sun-Times

Inspector Thomas Pitt knows the murder of a prostitute in a bedroom on decrepit Pentecost Alley would normally cause little comment, but under Ada McKinley’s body is a Hellfire Club badge inscribed with the name ‘Finlay Fitzjames’. Finlay’s father – immensely wealthy, powerful, and dangerous – denies the possibility that his son has been in Ada’s bed. The implication is clear: Pitt must arrest someone else. But Thomas Pitt will not be intimidated, and with the help of his quick-witted wife, Charlotte, he stubbornly pursues his investigation, determined to expose the truth.

What readers are saying about Pentecost Alley:

‘[Anne Perry’s] books are always gripping and beautifully written

‘Anne Perry writes with amazing clarity of London – a joy to pick up each book

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472218162

Reviews

Stands as one of her most intricately constructed plots... Perry packs a triple wallop into the final pages, one climax following another
Chicago Sun-Times
Difficult to put down... tricky and beautifully paced
The Virginian-Pilot
Beautifully crafted, filled with the gaslit atmosphere of a bygone world
Cosmopolitan
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Stands as one of her most intricately constructed plots... Perry packs a triple wallop into the final pages, one climax following another
Chicago Sun-Times
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Vibrant... alluring... It is [Perry's] fine-bladed outrage that draws the blood in this series
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Unfolds in a masterly fashion, sure to satisfy devotees of the classic puzzle
Houston Chronicle
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly