Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Rutland Place (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 5)

Rutland Place (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 5)

Will the dangerous persistence of Charlotte and the quiet patience of Inspector Thomas Pitt make it possible to solve this most macabre and chilling mystery?

Anne Perry’s Rutland Place is the fifth novel featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, which sees the duo uncovering the darkest and most desperate secrets hidden in fashionable Rutland Place.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.

‘When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company’ – New York Times

Charlotte Pitt’s mother has lost a locket holding a comprising picture. Arriving at her mother’s home at Rutland Place to help her search, Charlotte discovers that other residents of the exclusive neighbourhood have suffered similar unexplained small thefts. Then Mina Spencer-Brown, a woman known for prying, dies from poisoning. It seems likely that Mina’s snooping had led to her murder, but what secrets had she stumbled upon? And whose?

As Thomas Pitt patiently struggles to break down the protective silence of London’s high society, Charlotte works behind its closed doors to help unravel a mystery revealing sordid secrets and the chilling, dark corners of human behaviour.

What readers are saying about Rutland Place:

‘Once started, impossible to put the book down

Brilliant as usual’

‘Another excellent murder mystery – five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9781472227560

Reviews

When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
New York Times Book Review
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating
St. Petersburg Times
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal