Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

Bedford Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 19)

A suspicious death leads Pitt to the doorstep of one of London’s most respectable households…

Bedford Square is the nineteenth novel in bestselling author Anne Perry’s highly acclaimed mystery series featuring Thomas Pitt, and sees the detective investigating a murder steeped in class prejudice. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.


‘Ms Perry fashions a Victorian story with the sophisticated characterisation and psychological suspense that are everyday tools of the contemporary writer… the result is first rate’ – New York Times Book Review

When a man is found murdered on the doorstep of a respectable house in Bedford Square, Victorian England’s finest and most controversial policeman, Thomas Pitt, is called immediately to the scene. The only clue to the victim’s identity is a silver snuff box found on the body, curiously at odds with the man’s dishevelled appearance. Pitt soon discovers that the box, and the house where the body was found, belong to General Balantyne, a man Pitt knows to be a pillar of the community. He is dismayed to learn that Balantyne can barely recall the evening, let alone account for his movements…

What readers are saying about Bedford Square:

‘I thoroughly enjoyed Perry’s ability to show me around the streets of Victorian London, a very realistic journey that added a lot of spice to the adventure

‘[Anne Perry’s] books are always gripping and beautifully written

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Classic Crime

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755383139

Reviews

Ms Perry fashions a Victorian story with the sophisticated characterisation and psychological suspense that are everyday tools of the contemporary writer... the result is first rate
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly