Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Betrayal at Lisson Grove (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 26)

Betrayal at Lisson Grove (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 26)

Surrounded by conspiracy, who can Pitt trust?

Betrayal at Lisson Grove is another fantastic Pitt novel from the master storyteller of the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘The novel has a totally contemporary feel and is admirably well-written’ – Guardian

It’s 1895 and an increasingly violent tide of political unrest is rising fast all over Europe. Special Branch’s Inspector Thomas Pitt knows that they must find those responsible before England is overrun by reformists intent on overthrowing the government. When he finds himself in pursuit of a suspected terrorist, Pitt has no hesitation in following the chase all the way to France.

But events take a sinister turn when Narraway, Pitt’s superior, is accused of involvement in the death of an Irish informant and abruptly removed from office. Aware that her husband’s own career is also in jeopardy if he is not reinstated, Pitt’s wife Charlotte determines to help Narraway clear his name. As Charlotte and Narraway depart for Ireland and Pitt is drawn deeper into the investigation in France, it becomes clear that outside forces have conspired to separate them at a crucial time in the country’s history. With no one else to trust can they make it back to England and stop the revolt before it’s too late?

What readers are saying about Betrayal at Lisson Grove:

Excellently written and the suspense was kept right through the book’

Couldn’t put the book down. Anne is a gem of a writer’

Keeps you enthralled right to the very end of the book’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 14th April 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376834

Reviews

The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
The novel has a totally contemporary feel and is admirably well-written
Guardian
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
New York Times Book Review
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal