Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Half Moon Street (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 20)

Half Moon Street (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 20)

A case reeking of scandal before the body is even cold…

Half Moon Street is the twentieth crime novel in the bestselling Thomas Pitt mystery series, by the master storyteller of Victorian society, Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘A splendidly plotted yarn’ – Publishers Weekly

For Superintendent Thomas Pitt, the sight of the dead man riding the morning tide of the Thames is unforgettable. He lies in a battered punt drifting through the morning mist, his arms and legs chained to the boat’s sides. He is clad in a torn green gown and flowers bestrew his battered body.

Pitt’s determined search for answers to the victim’s identity leads him deep into London’s bohemia – to the theatre where beautiful Cecily Antrim is outraging society with her bold portrayal of a modern woman – and into studios where masters of light and shadow are experimenting with the fascinating new art of photography. But only Pitt’s most relentless pursuit enables him to identify the wildfire passions raging through this tragedy of good and evil, to hunt down the guilty and protect the
innocent.

What readers are saying about Half Moon Street:

‘I found the plot suspenseful and fascinating

Half Moon Street is cleverly plotted and comes to a satisfying and surprising conclusion

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211804

Reviews

A splendidly plotted yarn
Publishers Weekly
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Anne Perry continues to weave her beguiling spell, combining an adroitly plotted murder mystery and a lamentable social evil. Her Victorian mysteries have all the requisite scene-setting atmosphere and even a leavening of Dickens' social comnscience... Perry at her accomplished best
Crime Time
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times