Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Long Spoon Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 24)

Long Spoon Lane (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 24)

Not even the police force is free from corruption…

Anne Perry’s bestselling Inspector Pitt novels entice readers into a literary world almost as real as the original, and are perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger. In Long Spoon Lane, flower sellers, costermongers, shopkeepers, and hansom drivers ply their trades, while the London police watch over all. Or so people believe…


‘The period setting allows both some thoughtful debate on a difficult problem and a solution more reassuring than anything you’ll find in tomorrow’s papers’ – Kirkus Reviews

Early one morning, two bombs explode in an East London street. Forewarned of the attack, Thomas Pitt of the Special Branch, arrives in time to chase the bombers to a tenement in Long Spoon Lane. There, two men are arrested and one shot dead; but who and where and is the killer? As Pitt investigates, he uncovers truths more disturbing than the acts of a few misguided idealists. There’s a web of corruption within the police force, and all the clues point to Inspector Wetron of Bow Street as its mastermind. But as head of the sinister Inner Circle, Wetron has powerful allies in every sphere.

What readers are saying about Long Spoon Lane:

‘[Anne Perry] is quite exceptional in her ability to craft a complex plot with wholesome characters in a fascinating period/location. I can barely wait for Pitt’s next adventure’

Totally captivating, I could not put it down

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382798

Reviews

The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
The period setting allows both some thoughtful debate on a difficult problem and a solution more reassuring than anything you'll find in tomorrow's papers
Kirkus Reviews
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian