Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 28)

Midnight at Marble Arch (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 28)

Will Pitt be able to uncover the unspeakable truth behind two women’s deaths?

Loyal, honest and, above all, principled. There is no finer detective in Victorian London than Thomas Pitt; the protagonist of Anne Perry’s acclaimed mysteries. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.


‘Sweeping and scandalous… Perry has perfected a delicate touch’ – New York Times Book Review

It is 1896, and Thomas Pitt is in charge of Special Branch. He is beginning to understand the power he now commands, but is still ill at ease at the glittering events he and his wife Charlotte must attend. During a lavish party at the Spanish Embassy, a policeman breaks into Pitt’s conversation with investor Rawdon Quixwood to break the terrible news that Quixwood’s wife, Catherine, has been viciously assaulted at their home, and left for dead. Worse still, it appears that the assailant was someone she had trusted as she opened the door to the attacker herself.

At the same party, Charlotte sees Angeles Castelbranco, an ambassador’s daughter, flinch in fear at the teasing of some young men. A few days later, she flees from the same group and, in her terror, falls from a window – what could have caused her to take that fatal step? Pitt and his friend Victor Narraway vow to uncover the unspoken truth behind these two women’s deaths. But as they investigate, deception and violence get ever nearer and danger is only ever one step away…

What readers are saying about Midnight at Marble Arch:

‘The story is very compelling and keeps you guessing until the end’

Intelligent, gritty… and heartfelt

Excellent. Brilliant story and superb characterisation’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 13th September 2012

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780755397136

Reviews

Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
A surpassingly excellent historical and psychologically intricate mystery
Publishers Weekly
Sweeping and scandalous... Perry has perfected a delicate touch
New York Times Book Review
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
That rare breed of novel that's a page-turning thriller yet literary
Jeffery Deaver
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
A murder mystery made to make you think
Lancashire Evening Post
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal