Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Murder on the Serpentine (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 32)

Pitt is on a secret mission for Queen Victoria, which may be his last…

New York Times bestseller Anne Perry returns with the thirty-second novel in the Thomas Pitt mystery series, Murder on the Serpentine.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.

‘Master storyteller Anne Perry moves closer to Dickens as she lifts the lace curtain from Victorian society to reveal its shocking secrets’ – Sharyn McCrumb

London, 1899: Head of Special Branch Commander Thomas Pitt is summoned to Buckingham Palace.
In the twilight of her years, Queen Victoria is all too aware that the Prince of Wales will soon inherit her empire and must be beyond reproach. She tells Pitt she tasked her close friend and confidante, John Halberd, with investigating the Prince’s friends, specifically Alan Kendrick, a wealthy playboy and betting man, but before he could report back, Halberd was found dead in a rowing boat on the Serpentine.

The death has been ruled an unfortunate accident and the investigation closed, but the Queen is not convinced that all is as it seems and tasks Pitt with finding the truth.

Forced to act alone in this most sensitive of investigations, Pitt finds himself embroiled in a plot that threatens not only the reputations of men, but also the safety and reputation of the Empire…

What readers are saying about Murder on the Serpentine:

‘[An] enjoyable, well written and artfully plotted mystery from Anne Perry’

‘Once again, the author has surpassed herself… a book that I had great difficulty putting down

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 22nd September 2016

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472234063

Reviews

Master storyteller Anne Perry moves closer to Dickens as she lifts the lace curtain from Victorian society to reveal its shocking secrets
Sharyn McCrumb
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution