Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Southampton Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 22)

Southampton Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 22)

An enemy more deadly than any Pitt has faced before…

Murder, spiritualism and corruption are all at play in Anne Perry’s gripping novel, Southampton Row, the twenty-second mystery in the Thomas Pitt mystery series. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.


‘Exciting and explosive climax to this finely crafted period piece’ – Coventry Evening Telegraph

Despite Thomas Pitt’s success in the Whitechapel case, the secretive Inner Circle prevents his returning to the Bow Street police as Superintendent. Pitt’s next task for Special Branch is to investigate Charles Voisy – the corrupt Inner Circle man Pitt defeated in court – who is standing for election as a Tory MP. Pitt must obtain information to stop Voisy’s climb to political power. Then Pitt is ordered to Southampton Row, scene of the hideous murder of a spiritual medium. As the link between the spiritualist and political figures is revealed, the whispers of scandal grow louder. And with Charlotte in hiding for safety, Pitt must turn to his sister-in-law, Emily, to help him solve one of his most high-profile cases yet…

What readers are saying about Anne Perry:

‘The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets’

‘[Anne Perry’s] books are always gripping and beautifully written

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755383191

Reviews

Exciting and explosive climax to this finely crafted period piece
Coventry Evening Telegraph
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly