Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Angel Court Affair (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 30)

The Angel Court Affair (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 30)

With the nation’s safety at stake, Thomas Pitt must face a lethal enemy…

The Angel Court Affair is the thirtieth novel in Anne Perry’s popular series featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, along with favourite characters Vespasia and Narraway. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.


‘Be prepared for another well-deserved vacation to Victorian London with Anne Perry as the most cunning tour guide you will ever need… She is one of the best’ – Bookreporter

When Commander Thomas Pitt is ordered to protect a young woman visiting London from Spain, he cannot see why this is a job for Special Branch. When she disappears in the dead of night from Angel Court, however, he is faced with a dangerous mystery. Sofia preached new, and some say blasphemous, religious ideals, and her life had been threatened. But Pitt senses there is some deeper and more dangerous reason for her kidnap – if that is what it is.

Three men are caught up in the hunt for Sofia – her cousin, a banker for the Church of England, a popular and charismatic politician, and a journalist who seems determined to goad Pitt to the truth. Each seem to be hiding something, and as the search for answers stretches from London to Spain, Pitt knows that time is running out, and the nation’s security could be at stake…

What readers are saying about The Angel Court Affair:

A fascinating read. Anne Perry seems to get better and better as her series evolve. The characters remain fresh and new insights are added’

‘The atmosphere of turn of the century London is so absorbing and tangible that you can almost feel yourself shrouded in a cold blanket of East End fog and hear the Hansom carriages clatter along the streets’

‘[Anne Perry’s] books are always gripping and beautifully written
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th September 2014

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472219466

Reviews

Be prepared for another well-deserved vacation to Victorian London with Anne Perry as the most cunning tour guide you will ever need... She is one of the best
Bookreporter
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry melds the intellectual debates of the day with a suspenseful plot line
Publishers Weekly
Brilliant, heart-warming... [Anne] Perry combines the history of the period with social issues that echo our own
RT Book Reviews
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly