Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Whitechapel Conspiracy (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 21)

The Whitechapel Conspiracy (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 21)

Despite the loss of his job, Pitt is still intent on his pursuit of justice…

A bitter resentment from a powerful source ensures Pitt gets more than he bargained for in Anne Perry’s gripping mystery, The Whitechapel Conspiracy. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.


‘A beauty, brilliantly presented, ingeniously developed and packed with political implications that reverberate on every level of British society… Pitt delivers Perry’s most harrowing insights into the secret lives of the elegant Victorians who have long enchanted and repelled her’ – New York Times Book Review

When evidence presented in court by Thomas Pitt leads to the execution of a distinguished soldier and archaeologist, the retaliation from the hanged man’s influential friends is swift. The murderer was a member of the Inner Circle, a group of men whose power extends further than Pitt realised was possible, and, within days, he loses command of the Bow Street police station. To protect him from the Inner Circle’s hatred, he is forced to leave his family to work undercover in the dangerously volatile East End.

What readers are saying about The Whitechapel Conspiracy:

One of the best of the Pitt books. There was so much excitement and intrigue, I could hardly put it down

‘The combination of intriguing plotting and the period touches make it a great read

Breathtaking to the last page
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755383221

Reviews

A beauty, brilliantly presented, ingeniously developed and packed with political implications that reverberate on every level of British society... Pitt delivers Perry's most harrowing insights into the secret lives of the elegant Victorians who have long enchanted and repelled her
New York Times Book Review
One of the finest performances of Anne Perry's career. A mesmerising and suspenseful tale, rich in period detail, rife with articulate and believable characters
Publishers Weekly
An Anne Perry novel is a delight to read as much for its Victorian-era details as for the mystery it unfolds
Chicago Tribune
Perry has the great gift of making [the Victorian era] seem immediate and very much alive
The Philadelphia Inquirer
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly