Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Treachery at Lancaster Gate (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 31)

Treachery at Lancaster Gate (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 31)

When those in power conceal their own crimes, Thomas Pitt must uncover the truth…

Treachery at Lancaster Gate is the thirty-first novel in Anne Perry’s acclaimed mystery series featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, along with the ever-popular characters of Vespasia and Narraway. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.


‘A page-turning thriller… blending compelling plotting with superbly realized human emotion and exquisite period detail’ – Jeffery Deaver

Thomas Pitt arrives at a devastating bombing in Lancaster Gate to find two policemen dead and three more gravely wounded. London’s anarchists are blamed, but as Pitt and Inspector Tellman investigate they find it looks increasingly like a personal vendetta against those particular men. Did they lie about a drugs raid that went fatally wrong, and let an innocent man hang?

The idea of police dishonesty cuts Tellman to the quick – he joined the force to protect society, not exploit it. But he must uncover the truth, however much he wants to resist the signs of blackmail and corruption. With the threat of further bombings, and their superiors pushing for a quick resolution, Pitt and Tellman find their every move scrutinised, and their own lives suddenly at risk…

What readers are saying about Treachery at Lancaster Gate:

‘Anne Perry just gets better and better

‘This was gripping from the first to last page’

‘[Anne Perry’s] books are always gripping and beautifully written
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 10th September 2015

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472219541

Reviews

A page-turning thriller... blending compelling plotting with superbly realized human emotion and exquisite period detail
Jeffery Deaver
The monsters Anne Perry creates are not easy to live with, and their actions linger long after the book is closed
New York Journal of Books
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
New York Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly